Overall Rating Gold - expired
Overall Score 74.24
Liaison Lindsey Lyons
Submission Date April 30, 2015
Executive Letter Download

STARS v2.0

Dickinson College
IN-4: Innovation 4

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 1.00 / 1.00 Neil Leary
Center for Sustainability Education
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Title or keywords related to the innovative policy, practice, program, or outcome:
Chasing Ice: A One College One Community Conversation

A brief description of the innovative policy, practice, program, or outcome:

Launched in fall 2014, One College One Community brings together alumni, parents, faculty, and current students to consider a common theme each semester and connect through a series of events on and off campus. The inaugural program featured climate change and James Balog’s film Chasing Ice. Balog, the 2014 recipient of Dickinson College’s $100,000 Rose-Walters Prize for Global Environmental Activism, was in residence at Dickinson for two days in September 2014 for classroom visits, small group discussions, and a public lecture that was live-streamed to alumni and parents who participated in the Q&A via social media. Balog’s residency was preceded by a screening and discussion of his film Chasing Ice at the Carlisle Theater during Homecoming & Family Weekend. The film was made available to off-campus members of the Dickinson community via online streaming. An exhibit of Balog’s photos of ice was installed by students in Dickinson’s Waidner-Spahr Library, where it was on exhibit throughout the semester. Faculty and students traveled to New York City, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Washington, DC to participate in events with alumni and parents for conversations about Balog’s work and broader issues of climate change. The inaugural One College One Community program engaged the entire Dickinson community, on- and off-campus, in a sustained, semester-long conversation about ice, climate change, and sustainability.

James Balog is the third recipient of the Rose-Walters Prize in Global Environmental Activism, which is given annually by Dickinson College. The recipient, who receives a $100,000 prize, is selected by a committee that is chaired by John Adams, founder of the Natural Resources Defense Council, and includes Dickinson students, faculty, and administrators, friends of the college, and an eminent scientist of international renown. Previous recipients are author Bill McKibben and former EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson, and the 2015 recipient is actor and environmental advocate Mark Ruffalo. The prize winners spend a two to four-day residency on Dickinson’s campus, interacting with our students and community.

A brief description of any positive measurable outcomes associated with the innovation (if not reported above):

A letter of affirmation from an individual with relevant expertise:
Which of the following STARS subcategories does the innovation most closely relate to? (Select all that apply up to a maximum of five):
Yes or No
Curriculum ---
Research ---
Campus Engagement Yes
Public Engagement ---
Air & Climate Yes
Buildings ---
Dining Services ---
Energy ---
Grounds ---
Purchasing ---
Transportation ---
Waste ---
Water ---
Coordination, Planning & Governance ---
Diversity & Affordability ---
Health, Wellbeing & Work ---
Investment ---

Other topic(s) that the innovation relates to that are not listed above:

The website URL where information about the innovation is available:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.