Overall Rating Silver - expired
Overall Score 52.06
Liaison Casey Meehan
Submission Date June 15, 2017
Executive Letter Download

STARS v2.0

Western Technical College
EN-13: Community Stakeholder Engagement

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 2.00 / 2.00 Amanda McCray
Sustainability Institute
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Has the institution adopted a framework for community stakeholder engagement in governance, strategy and operations?:

A brief description of the policies and procedures that ensure community stakeholder engagement is applied systematically and regularly across the institution’s activities:

The Western District includes all or portions of 11 Wisconsin counties: Buffalo, Clark, Crawford, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, Trempealeau, and Vernon.

In accordance to Wisconsin Statute, Western Technical College operates under the direction of the Western District Board, comprised of nine members who serve three-year staggered terms. The members of the District Board are appointed by a Board Appointment Committee composed of the county board chairpersons of the eleven counties in the Western District. Wisconsin Statute mandates that the nine members of the District Board be residents of the District, and that the Board consist of two employers, two employees, three additional members, an elected official, and a school district administrator.

From a teaching and learning perspective, stakeholder engagement is applied systematically and regularly via our advisory committees. Western offers programs in a wide-range of fields from automotive technology to nursing to landscape horticulture to graphic design. Every academic program at Western has an advisory committee made up of experts who work in the field of study. This committee provides advice on the skills students should have as they enter the workforce.

A brief description of how the institution identifies and engages community stakeholders, including any vulnerable or underrepresented groups:

As per Wisconsin Administrative Code TCS 2:
At a minimum, the plan of representation prepared by the appointment committee shall include:
(a) A map of the district, and if the district is divided into subunits for appointment purposes, the boundaries of these subunits shall be indicated on the map.
(b) A statement explaining the plan of representation and demonstrating how the plan of representation gives equal consideration to:
1. The general population distribution of the district.
2. The distribution of women within the district.
3. The distribution of minorities within the district.
4. The distribution of minorities within a city of the 1st class where a district encompasses a city of the 1st class.

List of identified community stakeholders:

o University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
o Viterbo University
o Hillview Urban Agriculture Center
o Mayo-Franciscan Health System
o Gundersen Health System
o Ashley Furniture
o Dairyland Power Cooperative
o City of La Crosse
o Sustainability Institute
o La Crosse School District
o Holmen School District
o Tomah School District
o Onalaska School District
o Dozens of local employers from every sector who sit on advisory committees

A brief description of successful community stakeholder engagement outcomes from the previous three years:

The website URL where information about the institution’s community stakeholder engagement framework and activities is available:


Thanks to WTC's Sustainability Coordinator, Casey Meehan, for collecting this information.

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.