Overall Rating Silver
Overall Score 54.70
Liaison Alexi Lamm
Submission Date Oct. 31, 2019

STARS v2.2

Utah State University
PA-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 1.00 / 1.00 Alexi Lamm
Sustainability Coordinator
Facilities
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have at least one sustainability committee?:
Yes

The charter or mission statement of the committee(s) or a brief description of each committee's purview and activities:

The Sustainability Council has no official mission statement. Its unofficial mission is to advise the President and the University on policies and procedures to implement the American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment. Work groups focus on air quality & transportation, curriculum, energy & the build environment, and engagement.


Members of each committee, including affiliations and role:

Amanda Bevington amanda.bevington@usu.edu Residence Director, Living Learning Community
Ros Brain roslynn.brain@usu.edu Professor of Environment and Society
R. Ryan Dupont rdupo@cc.usu.edu Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Head of Division of Environmental Engineering, Utah Water Research Laboratory and designated Representative of the College of Engineering
Mike George mike.george@usu.edu Assistant Director of Support Services
Jack Greene jackisgreene@yahoo.edu Community Activist
Alexi Lamm alexi.lamm@usu.edu Sustainability Coordinator
Emily Malik emily.malik@loganutah.org City of Logan Conservation Coordinator
Nate Schwartz nate.schwartz@usu.edu Recycling Coordinator
Lorien Belton lorien.belton@aggiemail.usu.edu Extension
Ben Berrett ben.berrett@usu.edu Director of Planning, Design, & Construction
Stacy Bevan stacy.bevan@usu.edu Clinical Professor of Dietetics
Zac Cook zac.cook@usu.edu Energy Manager
Alden Erickson alden.erickson@usu.edu Aggie Shuttle Coordinator
Jim Evans James.evans@usu.edu Professor of Structural Geology
Nick Flann nick.flann@usu.edu Professor of Computer Science
Rob Gillies robert.gillies@usu.edu Professor, College of Science
Jennifer Givens jennifer.givens@usu.edu Professor of Sociology and designated Representative of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Jordy Guth jordy.guth@usu.edu Architect and Planner
Glynn Hadley glynn.hadley@usu.edu Engineer
Jamie Hart jamie.pearce@usu.edu Water Quality Engineer
Lawrence Hipps lawrence.hipps@usu.edu Professor of Climatology
Mark Holt mark.holt@usu.edu Electrical Engineer
Nancy Huntly nancy.huntly@usu.edu Director of Ecology Center and Professor of Biology
Jim Huppi jim.huppi@usu.edu Landscape Architect
Eric Jorgensen eric.jorgensen@usu.edu EH&S
Mark Lee Koven mark.lee.koven@usu.edu Professor of ASTE
Carlos Licon carlos.licon@usu.edu Professor of LAEP
Brhianna Malcolm brhianna.malcolm@usu.edu Engagement Coordinator (CCE)
Anthony Manzione anthony.manzione@usu.edu Student
Rodney Marchant rafkin04@gmail.com Lecturer English
Randy Martin randy.martin@usu.edu Professor of Engineering
Meg McCarthy margaret.mccarthy@usu.edu USU Sustainable Transportation
Carsten Meier carsten.meier@usu.edu Assistant Professor, Photography
Lorin Mortensen lorin.mortensen@usu.edu Mechanical Engineer
Richard Mueller richard.mueller@usu.edu Associate Professor & Associate Dean, College of Science
Reid Olsen reid.olsen@usu.edu Central Energy Plant, Utilities & HVAC Manager
Bryant Oxborrow bryant.oxborrow@aggiemail.usu.edu Dining Services
Justin Peterson justin.peterson@usu.edu Housing
Jennifer Reeve jennifer.reeve@usu.edu Professor of Organic and Sustainable Agriculture
Paul Rogers p.rogers@aggiemail.usu.edu Director, Western Aspen Alliance
Patrick Singleton patrick.singleton@usu.edu Assistant Professor, CEE
Ed Stafford ed.stafford@usu.edu Professor of Business and designated Representative of the Huntsman School of Business
Holley Stringham holley.stringham@aggiemail.usu.edu Student
Casey Trout caseytrout@aggiemail.usu.edu Student
Charles Waugh charles.waugh@usu.edu Professor, CHASS


Does the institution have at least one sustainability office that includes more than 1 full-time equivalent employee?:
Yes

A brief description of each sustainability office:

The Student Sustainability Office mission is to make a concrete place on campus where students can funnel their green ideas, obtain research grants for sustainability, and find out more ways to participate in sustainable living both during their time at USU and into their futures.


Full-time equivalent of people employed in the sustainability office(s):
3

Does the institution have at least one sustainability officer?:
Yes

Name and title of each sustainability officer:
Alexi Lamm

Does the institution have a mechanism for broad sustainability coordination for the entire institution?:
Yes

A brief description of the activities and substantive accomplishments of the institution-wide coordinating body or officer during the previous three years:

The Faculty Senate passed a resolution in early 2019 to accelerate the university's progress toward carbon neutrality, creating a task force to map and price the path to zero. The university received a grant to transition from chemical fertilizers to compost soil supplements. The largest solar installation yet has been installed at the Electric Vehicle Research facility. The Caine College of the Arts funded a student intern who has raised money for a solar installation and started the Impact Art Show, featuring student visions of a sustainable future. Existing programs have strengthened. More students have begun applying for Student Sustainability Grants, increasing the ideas proposed and competitiveness of the process. The Farmers Market and Earth Day events have attracted greater participation.


Job title of the sustainability officer position:
---

Job description for the sustainability officer position:
---

Job description for the sustainability officer position:
---

Job title of the sustainability officer position (2nd position):
---

Job description for the sustainability officer position (2nd position):
---

Job description for the sustainability officer position (2nd position):
---

Job title of the sustainability officer position (3rd position):
---

Job description for the sustainability officer position (3rd position):
---

Job description for the sustainability officer position (3rd position):
---

Website URL where information about the institution’s sustainability coordination is available:
---

Additional documentation to support the submission:
---

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution and complete the Data Inquiry Form.