Overall Rating Gold - expired
Overall Score 67.68
Liaison John Gardner
Submission Date May 31, 2016
Executive Letter Download

STARS v2.0

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
AC-9: Academic Research

Status Score Responsible Party
11.15 / 12.00 John Gardner
Sustainability Planning & Policy Analyst
Office of Sustainability
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Number of the institution’s faculty and/or staff engaged in sustainability research:

Total number of the institution’s faculty and/or staff engaged in research:

Number of academic departments (or the equivalent) that include at least one faculty or staff member that conducts sustainability research:

The total number of academic departments (or the equivalent) that conduct research:

A copy of the sustainability research inventory that includes the names and department affiliations of faculty and staff engaged in sustainability research:
Names and department affiliations of faculty and staff engaged in sustainability research:

Nikole Bouchard Architecture
Chris Cornelius Architecture
Carolyn Esswein Architecture
Nancy Frank Urban Planning
Kirk Harris Urban Planning
Lingqian (Ivy) Hu Urban Planning
Raymond Isaacs Architecture
Matthew Jarosz Architecture
Mark Keane Architecture
Brian Peterson Architecture
Robert Schneider Urban Planning
Arijit Sen Architecture
James Shields Architecture
Greg Thomson Architecture
Michael Utzinger Architecture
Karl Wallick Architecture
James Wasley Architecture
Sammis White Urban Planning

Kyoung Ae Cho Art & Design-Admin
Kim Cosier Art & Design
Yevgeniya Kaganovich Art & Design
Anne Basting Theatre
Alvaro Saar Rios Theatre

Timothy Haas Business
Fatemeh (Mariam) Zahedi Business

Maggie Bartlett Exceptional Education
Michael Bonds Educational Policy & Community Studies
Shannon Chavez-Korell Educational Psychology
Raquel Farmer-Hinton Educational Policy & Community Studies
Elise Frattura Exceptional Education
Marie Sandy Educational Policy & Community Studies
Craig Berg Curriculum & Instruction
Regina Smith Administrative Leadership
Rajeswari Swaminathan Educational Policy & Community Studies
Gary L. Williams Educational Policy & Community Studies

Nidal Abu-Zahra Materials Science and Engineering
Ryoichi Amano Mechanical Engineering
Ilya Avdeev Mechanical Engineering
Hector Bravo Civil & Environmental Engineering
Junhong Chen Mechanical Engineering
Benjamin Church Materials Science and Engineering
Robert Cuzner Electrical Engineering
Rani Elhajjar Civil & Environmental Engineering
Sam Helwany Civil & Environmental Engineering
Alan Horowitz Civil & Environmental Engineering
Nikolai Kouklin Electrical Engineering
Jin Li Civil & Environmental Engineering
Adel Nasiri Electrical Engineering
Xiao Qin Civil & Environmental Engineering
Deyang Qu Mechanical Engineering
John Reisel Mechanical Engineering
Pradeep Rohatgi Materials Science and Engineering
Konstantin Sobolev Civil & Environmental Engineering
Lingfeng Wang Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Emmanuel Wornyoh Mechanical Engineering
David Yu Electrical Engineering
Chris Yingchun Yuan Mechanical Engineering

Carmen Aguilar School of Freshwater Science
Fred Binkowski School of Freshwater Science
Harvey Bootsma School of Freshwater Science
Michael Carvan School of Freshwater Science
David Garman School of Freshwater Science
Laodong Guo School of Freshwater Science
John Janssen School of Freshwater Science
Jerry Kaster School of Freshwater Science
Jenny Kehl School of Freshwater Science
Rebecca Klaper School of Freshwater Science
J. Val Klump School of Freshwater Science
Sandra Mclellan School of Freshwater Science

Ron A. Cisler Biomedical Sciences
Susan Kundrat Kinesiology

Shana Ponelis SOIS
Johannes Britz SOIS

Abera Gelan Africology
Jeffrey Sommers Africology
Tracey Heatherington Anthropology
Bernard C. Perley Anthropology
John Berges Biological Sciences
Peter Dunn Biological Sciences
Timothy Ehlinger Biological Sciences
Emily Latch Biological Sciences
Erica Young Biological Sciences
Filipe Alberto Biological Sciences
Jian Chen Chemistry & Biochemistry
Laura E. Grant Economics
Itziar Lazkano Economics
Matthew McGinty Economics
Hamid Mohtadi Economics
Lane Hall English
Anne Bonds Geography
Woonsup Choi Geography
Alison Donnelly Geography
Glen Fredlund Geography
Rina Ghose Geography
Ryan Holifield Geography
Mark Schwartz Geography
Wu Changshan Geography
Margaret Fraiser Geosciences
Erik Gulbranson Geosciences
Shangping Xu Geosciences
Timothy Grundl Geosciences
Marcus Filippello History
Marc Levine History
Sergey Kravtsov Mathematical Sciences
Gabriella Pinter Mathematical Sciences
Istvan G. Lauko
Prasenjit Guptasarma Physics
Joel Rast Political Science
Natasha Borges Sugiyama Political Science
Diane Reddy Psychology
Oriol Mirosa Sociology

Aaron Buseh Nursing
Sally Lundeen Nursing

D. Phuong (Phoenix) Do Public Health
Amy Harley Public Health
Amy Kalkbrenner Public Health
Jenna Loyd Public Health
Hongbo Ma Public Health
Todd Miller Public Health
Emmanuel Ngui Public Health
Ellen Velie Public Health
Renee Walker Public Health
Lance Weinhardt Public Health
Fang Yan Public Health

Joan Blakey Social Work
Tina Freiburger Criminal Justice
David J. Pate Jr. Social Work
Aleksandra J. Snowden Criminal Justice
Bonnie Halvorsen CIUAN

A brief description of the methodology the institution followed to complete the research inventory:

Office of Sustainability staff analyzed professor bios (including research interest and publications) on departmental websites in May 2016. In addition, we evaluated grants, intellectual contributions, and presentations submitted to UWM's Digital Measures (1/1/15-1/31/16), an annual summary exercise for the College of Letters & Sciences.

Numbers for total faculty engaged in research was obtained from 2015 October Payroll Analysis. All tenured faculty, non-tenured faculty, and faculty executives were considered as "engaged in research" for lack of more clear in-house data. Data does not include research undertaken by teaching academic staff and non-academic staff.

A brief description of notable accomplishments during the previous three years by faculty and/or staff engaged in sustainability research:

Adel Nasiri-Professor in Electrical Engineering researches microgrids and is building a microgrid at the University's Sedrvices and Research Building. The microgrid currently features a 10kW wind turbine, 50 kW solar installation, natural gas, and batteries.
Deyang Qu, Johnson Controls Endowed Professor in Energy Storage Research, has built a recognized research program in energy storage systems for electric vehicles, smart-grid technology and military applications.
Biologist Stefan Schnitzer and his team of student researchers study lianas (parasitic woody vines) in Central and South America that choke out mature trees which store the most carbon.

The website URL where information about sustainability research is available:

Due to limited methodology, this assessment cannot be considered exhaustive, but rather what can be easily obtained from a student's perspective on faculty research.

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution and complete the Data Inquiry Form.