Overall Rating Silver - expired
Overall Score 52.11
Liaison Mary-Lee Townsend
Submission Date Aug. 22, 2011
Executive Letter Download

STARS v1.1

Western University
PAE-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 3.00 / 3.00 Brandon Watson
Communications and Training Officer
Physical Plant and Capital Planning Services
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have a sustainability committee?:

The charter or mission statement of the committee or a brief description of the committee's purview and activities :

The President's Advisory Committee on Environment and Sustainability's (PACES) purpose is to provide direction on the creation of cohesive and comprehensive approaches to environmental sustainability at Western.

PACES aims to set ambitious but attainable goals related to campus sustainability and to improve awareness of sustainability initiatives and opportunities campus-wide.

In the interest of producing the smallest ecological footprint, PACES is guided by the following principles:

- Incorporating sustainability into our academic programming, to contribute to an educated citizenry and develop future leaders
- Engaging in research across the disciplines into issues of environmental sustainability
- Reducing our use of inputs
- Reducing outputs through recycling and reuse
- Focusing on life cycle management of resources and waste products
- Utilizing ecological landscaping methods and preserving green space
- Building and renovating facilities in accordance with energy efficiency and sustainability principles

Members of the committee, including affiliations:

The Working Group reports jointly to the Provost and Vice President, Resources and Operations. Committee members include:

- Janice Deakin, Provost and Vice-President (Academic), Co-chair
- Gitta Kulzcycki, Vice President (Resources and Operations), Co-chair
- Dr. Irena Creed, Associate Professor, Biology and Earth Sciences
- Dr. Dan Shrubsole, Professor and Department Chair, Geography
- Dr. Gordon Southam, Director, Centre for Environment and Sustainability
- Dr. Andrew Hrymak, Dean and Professor, Chemical & Biochemical Engineering
- Roy Langille, Associate Vice-President, Facilities Management Division
- Susan Grindrod, Associate Vice President, Housing and Ancillary Services
- Helen Connell, Associate Vice-President, Communications & Public Affairs
- Elizabeth Krische, Director of Purchasing, Financial Services
- Carolyn Young, Director, Continuing Studies
- Beverley Townsend, Manager, Energy and Environment
- Jeff Grieve, Associate Director, Technical Support, ITS
- Sonja Teichert, Society of Graduate Students
- Analise Hoffman,University Student's Council

The website URL where information about the sustainability committee is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability office?:

A brief description of the sustainability office:

The number of people employed in the sustainability office:

The website URL where information about the sustainability office is available:

Does the institution have a sustainability coordinator?:

Sustainability coordinator's name:

Sustainability coordinator's position title:

A brief description of the sustainability coordinator’s position:

The website URL where information about the sustainability coordinator is available:

Data source(s) and notes about the submission:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.