Overall Rating Silver
Overall Score 59.36
Liaison Ben Dharmendra
Submission Date July 30, 2021

STARS v2.2

University of Sydney
PRE-3: Institutional Boundary

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete N/A Zoe Morrison
Strategy Advisor
Strategy Office
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Institution type:

Institutional control:

A brief description of the institution’s main campus and other aspects of the institutional boundary used to complete this report:

The University of Sydney has 10 key locations through NSW with two research stations in the ACT and Great Barrier Reef in Far North Queensland.

Camperdown/Darlington Campus
Our biggest campus is located close to Sydney's Central Business District. The campus is 72 hectares of state-of-the-art teaching and learning technology, including six libraries, art galleries, historical museums, perfectly manicured lawns, and the main home for our 5 faculties and 3 University schools.

We have additional campuses and facilities in the heart of the Sydney CBD and at Westmead, Lismore, Orange, Dubbo, Broken Hill and Camden. Field stations include; Crommelin, located 60 km north of Sydney at Pearl Beach; The Tropical Ecology Research Facility, an hour’s drive east of Darwin, on the way to Kakadu National Park; and One Tree Island, a self-sustaining research island, the world’s only research station licensed to facilitate teaching and research on the World Heritage-listed Great Barrier Reef.

The University owns several farms including:
Arthursleigh - 19,520 acre (7900 ha) farm owned by the University of Sydney located approximately 20-25 kms north east of Marulan. The farm was bequeathed to the university in 1979. It is used for teaching and research in pasture agronomy and animal science. It is also managed by a farm manager passionate about using sustainable farming practices.
Nowley Farm - The EJ Holtsbaum Agricultural Research Institute is a 2,083 hectare property combining cereal grain production and a cattle breeding and fattening enterprise. Nowley is located in the Liverpool plains area of NSW and is used for both animal and plant production on a large scale. The dryland cropping area is one of the largest available to the University. The farm provides students and researchers with a great platform for innovative farming systems research.
The IA Watson Grains Research Centre at Narrabri - Includes Llara/Campey farm, a large commercial research farm which is 1800 ha comprising of 60% cropping, 35% grazing and 5% native vegetation forest. The main crops grown are wheat, faba beans, chickpeas, canola, sorghum and dryland cotton. The farm also runs beef cattle. The Llara farm has significant environmental assets which are available for teaching and research related to multifunctional landscapes. It is also a living lab site for our agriculture and robotics researchers.

Which of the following features are present on campus and which are included within the institutional boundary?:
Present? Included?
Agricultural school Yes Yes
Medical school Yes Yes
Other professional school with labs or clinics (e.g. dental, nursing, pharmacy, public health, veterinary) Yes Yes
Museum Yes Yes
Satellite campus Yes Yes
Farm larger than 2 hectares or 5 acres Yes Yes
Agricultural experiment station larger than 2 hectares or 5 acres Yes Yes
Hospital No No

The rationale for excluding any features that are present from the institutional boundary:


Additional documentation to support the submission :

Data source(s) and notes about the submission:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.