Overall Rating Bronze - expired
Overall Score 33.32
Liaison James Taylor
Submission Date Sept. 25, 2012
Executive Letter Download

STARS v1.2

University of North Florida
PAE-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 3.00 / 3.00 James Taylor
Environmental Center
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have a sustainability committee?:

The charter or mission statement of the committee or a brief description of the committee's purview and activities :

The UNF Sustainability Committee is advisory in nature and responsible for issues that pertain to environmental sustainability primarily on UNF campus.

The objectives of the Sustainability Committee are to:

1. Guide the development and implementation of UNF’s Climate Action Plan;

2. Oversee the maintenance and restoration of Sawmill Slough Preserve;

3. Increase communication and relationships between internal UNF entities and with our external community pertaining to green practices;

4. Develop a public commitment to sustainable practices;

5. Obtain funding for sustainability programs through the Environmental Center and/or the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs;

6. Recommend sustainability factors be included in planning and decision-making processes through our responsible leadership; and

7. Promote UNF’s sustainability practices and programs on a local, regional and national level.

Members of the committee, including affiliations:

James Taylor, Committee Chair, Coordinator Environmental Center

John Boozer, Administrative Assistant Environmental Center

David Crabtree, Director Student Union

Ayolane Halusky
Coordinator Eco-Adventures & Wildlife Sanctuary

Becky Purser
Director, Recreation

Chris Wrenn
General Counsel (advisory)

Chuck Hubbuch
Assistant Director, Physical Facilities

Erin Largo-Wight, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Brooks College of Health

Jolie Schlieper
President Sawmill Slough Conservation Club

Lance Taylor
Associate Vice President & Chief Information Officer, Administration & Finance

Radha Pyati, Ph.D.
Director, Environmental Center

Signe Evans, Library Special Services Thomas G. Carpenter Library

Tony Rossi, Ph.D., Associate Professor Department of Biology

Vince Smyth
Director, Auxiliary Services

Wallace Harris
Associate Director, Physical Facilities

Zak Ovadia, Director Campus Planning, Design & Construction

The website URL where information about the sustainability committee is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability office?:

A brief description of the sustainability office:

The Environmental Center conducts and supports campus infrastructural projects involving sustainability and the campus’s natural environment.

The number of people employed in the sustainability office:

The website URL where information about the sustainability office is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability coordinator?:

Sustainability coordinator's name:
James Taylor

Sustainability coordinator's position title:
Coordinator, Environmental Center

A brief description of the sustainability coordinator’s position:

The Coordinator of the Environmental Center has a number of duties including coordinating sustainability efforts on campus. Per the Sustainability Committee bylaws, the Coordinator chairs the committee to help effectively coordinated efforts.

The website URL where information about the sustainability coordinator is available:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.