Overall Rating Gold - expired
Overall Score 66.39
Liaison Shane Stennes
Submission Date Dec. 15, 2015
Executive Letter Download

STARS v2.0

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
PA-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
1.00 / 1.00 Stacey White
Sustainability Coordinator
Facilities Management
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have at least one sustainability committee, office, and/or officer that focuses on sustainability broadly and covers the entire institution?:

A brief description of the activities and substantive accomplishments of the committee(s), office(s), and/or officer(s) during the previous three years:

The Sustainability Office is housed in the office of University Services. It employs two full time staff and three undergraduate students. The office provides support for the sustainability committees at the University, works to communicate sustainability efforts to the public through events and communications, and coordinates sustainability programs and initiatives across campus. In addition, a Sustainability Education Coordinator is employed through the Institute on the Environment and in the on-campus student housing department.

Does the institution have at least one sustainability committee?:

The charter or mission statement of the committee(s) or a brief description of each committee's purview and activities:

The Twin Cities Sustainability Committee is charged with planning, implementing, and reporting campus wide sustainability efforts in teaching, outreach, research, and operations. Some roles of the committee include: leading completion of STARS, leading the development of a Climate Action Plan, and overseeing the living laboratory program.

Members of each committee, including affiliations and role (e.g. staff, student, or faculty):

Membership of the Committee is currently being revised and the Committee recharged. Past Sustainability Committee Members include:

Todd Arnold, Associate Professor
Department of Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology
Mike Berthelsen, Associate Vice President and Committee Co-Chair
Facilities Management
Emily Hoover, Professor, Head and Committee Co-Chair
Department of Horticultural Science
Raymond Hozalski, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Civil Engineering
Beth Mercer-Taylor, Education Sustainability Coordinator
Institute on the Environment
Ned Mohan, Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Lance Neckar, Professor
Department of Landscape Architecture
Virajita Singh, Senior Research Fellow
Center for Sustainable Building Research
Tim Smith, Associate Professor Bioproducts/Biosystems Engineering, and Director of Northstar Initiative for Sustainable Enterprise at IonE
Shane Stennes, Sustainability Director
University Services
Deb Swackhamer, Charles M. Denny Chair of Science, Technology , and Public Policy, Humphrey; Professor, Environmental Health Sciences, School of Public Health; Co-director, Water Resources Center
Brian Swanson, Budget Officer
Office of Budget and Finance
George Weiblen, Associate Professor
Department of Plant Biology
Amelious Whyte, Chief of Staff
Office of Student Affairs
Donovan Woldt, Undergraduate
Aerospace Engineering and IT student representative to MSA

The website URL where information about the sustainability committee(s) is available:
Does the institution have at least one sustainability office that includes more than 1 full-time equivalent (FTE) employee?:

A brief description of each sustainability office:

University Services and the Office of Sustainability creates and sustains a physical environment and service culture that advances teaching, research and outreach at the University of Minnesota. The department’s work encompasses the critical infrastructure and services needed to support the university’s mission and overall academic plan. More than 3,000 U Services employees support six major functions that are critical to the day-to-day operation of all University of Minnesota campuses

Full-time equivalent (FTE) of people employed in the sustainability office(s):

The website URL where information about the sustainability office(s) is available:
Does the institution have at least one sustainability officer?:

Name and title of each sustainability officer:
Shane Stennes, Sustainability Director; Stacey White, Sustainability Coordinator; Beth Mercer Taylor, Sustainability Education Coordinator

A brief description of each sustainability officer position:

Implementation, assessment, and support of sustainability programs, initiatives, and communications related to operations activities on the Twin Cities campus of the University of Minnesota. Work with staff, faculty, and students to advance sustainability practices and institutionalize sustainability within University operations. Work toward the development of a strategic plan to engage the campus community in sustainability activities; work with function (e.g. dining, waste, transportation) subject matter experts and leaders, and stakeholders across the university to ensure successful implementation of the engagement plan; develop and implement engagement strategies to facilitate, empower, and encourage campus community members to integrate sustainability into their actions, practices, and behaviors; create, track, and report on related metrics.

The website URL where information about the sustainability officer(s) is available:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution and complete the Data Inquiry Form.