Overall Rating Reporter - expired
Overall Score
Liaison Cynthia Klein-Banai
Submission Date Jan. 31, 2011
Executive Letter Download

STARS v1.0

University of Illinois at Chicago
PAE-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete Reporter Cynthia Klein-Banai
Associate Chancellor for Sustainability
Office of Sustainability
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have a sustainability committee?:

The charter or mission statement of the committee or a brief description of the committee's purview and activities :

The charge of the Chancellor's Committee on Sustainability and Energy (CCSE) is to set priorities, suggest new initiatives, monitor UIC’s progress towards goals and actions, assist with the preparation of reports for the campus climate commitments, help with the accountability of relevant sustainability initiatives and promote environmental awareness on campus.

Members of the committee, including affiliations:

Pablo Acevedo, Associate Director, Facilities Management (Recycling and Waste Management
subcommittee) Richard Anderson, Associate Director for Health and Safety, Environmental Health and Safety Office Sayaka Araki, graduate student Jeff Barrie, Director, Utility Operations, Facility Planning and Programs (Energy and Utilities
subcommittee) Jean Bogner, Research Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences Christopher Boyer, Associate Professor, History John Cuttica, Director, Energy Resources Center (Energy and Utilities subcommittee) Amanda Damptz, undergraduate student, President Terra Society Angel Diaz, Assistant Director, Transportation & Garage Operations (Transportation subcommittee) Joe DiJohn, Director, Metropolitan Transportation Support Initiative, Urban Transportation Center
(Transportation subcommittee) Jose Valencia, undergraduate student, President of Green Youth Movement Josh Dorka, HR Office, UIC Human Resources Waleed D’Keidek, Associate Director, Quality Assurance, Capital Programs (Energy and Utilities
subcommittee) Darlene Ebel, Director, Facility Information Management (Grounds subcommittee) Stephen Holz, Associate Director, Labor and Employee Relations, UIC Human Resources Lisa Junkin, Project Coordinator, Education, Jane Addams Hull‐House Museum Kristy Kambanis, Resource and Policy Analyst, Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs Chris Miller, Assistant Professor, Educational Policy Studies David A. Miller, Associate Director, Hospital Administration (Recycling and Waste Management
subcommittee) Lubia Nunez, undergraduate student, Student Centers Board Wanda Perry, Director, Campus Parking (Transportation Subcommittee) Ramona Pufan, graduate student Administration (Recycling and Waste Management subcommittee) Jill Rothamer, Director, Campus Programs Robert Rouzer, Executive Associate Director of Campus Auxiliary Services William Ryan, Research Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering Lisa Sanzenbacher, Coordinator of Clinical and Research Programs, Psychiatry Albert Schorsch III, Associate Dean, College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs Susan Teggatz, Senior Associate Director of Housing, Campus Housing Sarah Yu, Research Programmer, Academic Computing and Communications Center

The website URL where information about the sustainability committee is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability office?:

A brief description of the sustainability office:

The Office of Sustainability forms the focal point for coordinating sustainability initiatives on campus by receiving information, tracking data, and assessing progress. This is accomplished through involvement in institutional and programmatic planning, information dissemination, providing guidance, reporting, and acting as a resource for on sustainability in higher education.

The number of people employed in the sustainability office:

The website URL where information about the sustainability office is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability coordinator?:

Sustainability coordinator's name:
Cynthia Klein - Banai

Sustainability coordinator's position title:
Associate Chancellor for Sustainability

A brief description of the sustainability coordinator’s position:

The Associate Chancellor for Sustainability is tasked with as outlined by the Campus Task Force on Sustainability to:

- coordinate sustainability efforts among various offices - implement the task force recommendations and staff committee
- oversee recycling (coordination, promotion, grant writing & reporting, vendor recommendations/bids)
- coordinate outreach efforts for students, faculty and staff (web site, events coordination, student
organizations, internships)
- cultivate and develop community partnerships (City of Chicago, Center for Neighborhood
Technology, etc)
- measure, monitor and report performance annually (baseline and response to initiatives)(surveys, recycling data, greenhouse gas inventories, energy usage, university‐wide savings due to sustainability efforts)
- develop campus‐wide policies and facilitate incorporating sustainability concepts into individual departmental policies
- research and implement funding mechanisms for sustainability projects

The website URL where information about the sustainability coordinator is available:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution and complete the Data Inquiry Form.