|Submission Date||Feb. 15, 2018|
University of Colorado Colorado Springs
PA-11: Employee Compensation
|1.48 / 3.00||
Human Resources Office
The local living wage (based on a family of four and expressed as an hourly wage):
Percentage of all employees (regular full-time, regular part-time, and temporary workers) that receive a living wage (benefits excluded):
Does the institution have employees of contractors that work on-site as part of regular and ongoing campus operations?:
Percentage of employees of contractors that work on-site as part of regular and ongoing campus operations that the institution has verified as receiving a living wage (benefits excluded) (0-100; enter ‘0’ if unknown):
The total compensation provided to the institution’s lowest paid regular (i.e., permanent) employee or pay grade meets or exceeds what percentage of the living wage?:
A brief description of the minimum total compensation provided to the institution’s lowest paid employee or pay grade, including any in-kind benefits included as part of the total compensation figure :
10% towards retirement; medical, dental, eye coverage; tuition annually worth $2,400; 10 paid holidays; 12-22 paid vacation days annually; 10-15 paid sick days annually; life, short-term, long-term disability insurance.
The lowest paid regular employee earns $11.72 per hour plus full benefits. The Living Wage for 2 adults, 2 children in El Paso County, CO is $16.41. With benefits the lowest paid employee earns $32,178 or $17.12 per hour for hours worked (excluded vacations). Assuming 47 weeks of work. Did not take out for sick days.
Has the institution made a formal commitment to pay a living wage?:
A copy or brief description of the institution’s written policy stating its commitment to a living wage:
Has the institution made a formal commitment to provide a living wage to its student employees and/or graduate teaching/research assistants (e.g. by adopting a student bill-of-rights)?:
A brief description of the institution’s commitment to a student living wage:
The state does not have a commitment to a student living wage, however Colorado passed a minimum wage law that is staged up to $12.00 in 2020/ In 2018 the minimum wage is $10.20. Source: the Colorado State Department of Labor.
The website URL where information about the programs or initiatives is available:
Additional documentation to support the submission:
The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution and complete the Data Inquiry Form.