Overall Rating Gold - expired
Overall Score 71.76
Liaison Mike Versteege
Submission Date Oct. 10, 2014
Executive Letter Download

STARS v1.2

University of Alberta
ER-8: Sustainability Courses by Department

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 5.26 / 7.00 Naomi Krogman
Academic Director of the Office of Sustainability
Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

The number of departments that offer at least one sustainability-related or -focused course :

The total number of departments that offer courses:

A list of departments that offer sustainability courses:

Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences
1. Agricultural Food and Nutritional Science
2. Human Ecology
3. Renewable Resources
4. Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology

Alberta School of Business
5. Accounting, Operations and Information Systems
6. Marketing, Business Economics, and Law
7. Strategic Management and Organization

Faculty of Arts
8. Anthropology
9. Art and Design
10. Economics
11. English and Film Studies
12. History and Classics
13. Linguistics
14. Modern Languages and Cultural Studies
15. Philosophy
16. Political Science
17. Psychology (Department belongs to Faculty of Arts and Faculty of Science)
18. Sociology
19. Women's and Gender Studies

Augustana Campus
20. Humanities
21. Science
22. Social Sciences

23. Campus Saint-Jean

Faculty of Education
24. Educational Policy Studies
25. Elementary Education
26. Secondary Education

Faculty of Engineering
27. Chemical and Materials Engineering
28. Civil and Environmental Engineering, School of Mining and Petroleum Engineering
29. Electrical & Computer Engineering
30. Mechanical Engineering

31. Faculty of Law

32. Faculty of Extension

Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry
33. Dentistry and Dental Hygiene
34. Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
35. Medical Microbiology and Immunology
36. Medicine
37. Oncology
38. Pediatrics

39. Faculty of Native Studies

40. Faculty of Nursing

41. Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

42. Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation

43. School of Public Health

Faculty of Science
44. Biological Sciences
45. Chemistry
46. Computing Science
47. Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
48. Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
49. Physics

50. St. Joseph's College

The website URL where the publicly available sustainability course inventory that includes a list of departments that offer sustainability courses is available:
A copy of the sustainability course inventory :

The total number of Departments at the University of Alberta was acquired by counting each Department, as listed on the Faculty websites. Some Faculties at the University of Alberta are not divided into Departments; in these cases, the Faculties themselves were counted as Department equivalents.

- The Faculty of Extension was included in the total number of Departments. Although it primarily offers continuing education courses, it also offers several courses for university credit.
- The Office of Interdisciplinary Studies, the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research and St. Stephen’s College were not included in the total number of Departments.
- Two Departments (Psychology and Biomedical Engineering) belong to more than one Faculty. These Departments were counted only once.

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.