Overall Rating Bronze - expired
Overall Score 37.84
Liaison Lauren Ng
Submission Date Jan. 18, 2013
Executive Letter Download

STARS v1.1

Scripps College
PAE-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 3.00 / 3.00 Kasey Mitchell
Sustainability Coordinator Intern
Office of the President
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have a sustainability committee?:

The charter or mission statement of the committee or a brief description of the committee's purview and activities :

The Committee shall seek to educate, challenge, and encourage students, faculty and staff
to advocate for the behavioral and social changes necessary to improve the environmental
health of our community and our world. The committee will:
• Review and analyze existing sustainability practices at the College;
• Advise the president on an organized approach to management decisions for all
campus life operations in an effort to advance the principles of sustainability;
• Propose goals and strategies that will address a comprehensive green management
• Promote cost-effective applications of environmentally responsible principles
throughout the campus;
• Communicate the sustainability practices of Scripps College to the Scripps
Community, the Claremont Consortium, prospective students, campus visitors,
and other college communities;
• Work with members of the Consortium to promote sustainability best practices
through 5-College events;
• Provide the President counsel on all of the above, in keeping with the mission of
the college.

Members of the committee, including affiliations:

2010-2011 Membership
Committee Chair
Lola Trafecanty, Director of Grounds
Tom Adkins, Director of Dining Services
Claire Bridge, Assistant to the President
Tamsen Burke, Director, Sallie Tiernan Field House
Niel Errickson, Director of Facilities
Steve Sabicer, Director of Public Relations
Carolyn Revelle
Nancy Neiman-Auerbach, Associate Professor of Politics
Katie Purvis-Roberts, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Julia Esterly – Parent (Bryn Morgan)2
Kasey Michell ‘12
Morgan Mayer-Jochimsen, Environmental Chair for SAS,’13
Ilona Phipps-Morgan ‘11
Shannon Rhys ‘13
Sara Zúñiga ‘12
Alana MacWhorter ‘10
Sue Talbot ’69

The website URL where information about the sustainability committee is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability office?:

A brief description of the sustainability office:

The number of people employed in the sustainability office:

The website URL where information about the sustainability office is available:

Does the institution have a sustainability coordinator?:

Sustainability coordinator's name:

Sustainability coordinator's position title:

A brief description of the sustainability coordinator’s position:

The website URL where information about the sustainability coordinator is available:

Data source(s) and notes about the submission:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.