Overall Rating Gold - expired
Overall Score 67.40
Liaison Saiyare Refaei
Submission Date March 12, 2013
Executive Letter Download

STARS v1.1

Pacific Lutheran University
PAE-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 3.00 / 3.00 Jenny Taylor
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have a sustainability committee?:

The charter or mission statement of the committee or a brief description of the committee's purview and activities :

PLU has a Sustainability Department, University Sustainability Committee comprised of students, staff, and faculty, and active student groups dedicated to sustainability issues.
“The Sustainability Committee was formed as a campus collaboration to inspire, promote, and celebrate sustainability at PLU. They are an the springboard for sustainability initiatives on campus and are the best start to getting involved in your own way.”

Members of the committee, including affiliations:

Brian Naasz- Clinical Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Sheri Tonn- Vice President of Finance and Operations; Christine Cooley- Sustainability Resource Coordinator; Susan Harmon- Associate Professor of Business; Kevin O’Brien- Assistant Professor of Religion; Jeff Olsen Krengel- Director of Residential Programs; Gretchen Howell- Human Resources/Commute Smart; Bob Stivers- Professor of Religion, Emeritus; Barbara Conner- clemenba@plu.edu; Emily McCann- Senior Admission Counselor; Jill Whitman- Chair and Professor of Geosciences; Dave Kohler- Director, Facilities Management; Joe Bell- Environmental Health and Safety; Facilities Management; Wendy Robins- Sustainability Operations Manager, Dining Services; Marion Sharp- Development; Tracy Williamson- Humanities Division; Joanna Kraft- Student Sustainability Committee Chair; Sarah Patterson- ASPLU Sustainability Director; Anna Pfohl- RHA Sustainability Director

The website URL where information about the sustainability committee is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability office?:

A brief description of the sustainability office:

The Sustainability Office has two full time employees as well as 27 student workers. The Sustainability Office works to promote sustainability education, programs, events, coordination, and recycling on and off campus.

The number of people employed in the sustainability office:

The website URL where information about the sustainability office is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability coordinator?:

Sustainability coordinator's name:
Christine Cooley

Sustainability coordinator's position title:
Sustainability Manager

A brief description of the sustainability coordinator’s position:

Christine Cooley is the manager of the Sustainability Office on campus, encompassing many different duties. She works to reduce energy consumption on campus, promote student initiatives, and run the zero waste program.

The website URL where information about the sustainability coordinator is available:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution and complete the Data Inquiry Form.