Overall Rating Silver
Overall Score 55.04
Liaison Prabhakar Shrestha
Submission Date Jan. 13, 2023

STARS v2.2

New Jersey Institute of Technology
PA-9: Committee on Investor Responsibility

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 0.50 / 2.00 Prabhakar Shrestha
Director of Sustainability
Office of Sustainability
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have a formally established and active committee on investor responsibility (CIR) or equivalent body?:

The charter or mission statement of the CIR or other body which reflects social and environmental concerns or a brief description of how the CIR is tasked to address social and environmental concerns:

The Joint Investment Committee oversees the joint investment portfolio of NJIT and the Foundation at NJIT and reports on an annual basis to the Board of Overseers on the performance of the investments and makes recommendations to the Board concerning management of the investment portfolio, as required by the Board.

The Statement of Investment Policy (see attached) issued on March 16, 2022 on the pooled endowment fund provides guidance in considering the Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) investing principles.

Does the CIR include academic staff representation?:

Does the CIR include non-academic staff representation?:

Does the CIR include student representation?:

Members of the CIR, including affiliations and role:

The NJIT Joint Investment Committee (JIC) comprises of the following:

1) Al DeSeta, Board of Overseer, JIC interim Chair
Partner, Robin Hood Ventures

2) Steve Saperstein, Board of Overseer Co- Executive Vice Chair, JIC Chair as of 1/8/23
President, Linvale Consulting, LLC

3) Mr. Martin Tuchman, Board of Overseer
CEO, Kingstone Capital V

4) Mr. Robert Cohen (Ex. Officio), Board of Trustees Chair
President, Digital Robotics and Enabling Technologies
Stryker Orthopedics

5) Mr. Pat Natale
VP, Business Strategies, Mott MaDonald (Retired)

6) Mr. Dennis Toft, Board of Trustee
Esq, Chiesa Shahinian & Giantomasi PC

7) Ms. Marjorie Perry (Ex. Officio), Board of Overseer Chair
President and CEO, MZM Construction & Management

NJIT staff also form the member of the committee. They are:
1) Catherine Brennan (SVP for Finance and CFO)
2) Kenneth Alexo (VP for Development and Alumni Relations)
3) Brian Kirkpatrick (AVP for Accounting and Treasury Management)
4) Cara Bartolomeo (Administrative Manager)

Examples of CIR actions during the previous three years:

The JIC is looking forward to improving NJIT's ESG commitments in the coming days.

Website URL where information about the institution’s committee on investor responsibility is available:

Additional documentation to support the submission:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.