Overall Rating Silver
Overall Score 54.47
Liaison Claudia Kent
Submission Date June 29, 2020

STARS v2.2

Haverford College
PA-9: Committee on Investor Responsibility

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 2.00 / 2.00 Jesse Lytle
Chief of Staff
Office of the President
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have a formally established and active committee on investor responsibility (CIR) or equivalent body?:

The charter or mission statement of the CIR or other body which reflects social and environmental concerns or a brief description of how the CIR is tasked to address social and environmental concerns:

The Council on Sustainability and Social Responsibility serves as Haverford College’s committee on investor responsibility. CSSR provides advice around environmental, social, and governance (ESG) investment considerations to the Investment Committee of the Board of Managers. CSSR also has a dedicated portfolio of stocks on which it may vote proxies and sponsor shareholder resolutions.

CSSR receives concerns and suggestions from the Haverford College community related to investment policies and practices. As circumstances warrant, it will engage students and the broader Haverford community in conversation on ESG issues of importance and provide guidance on their application to Haverford's broader investment activities.

In making recommendations, CSSR seeks to carry out its responsibilities in a manner consistent with institutional policies, priorities, and values. CSSR recognizes that sustaining Haverford’s mission requires stewarding all of its various endowments, including the ethical endowment that shapes the College’s institutional character and the financial endowment that allows it to fulfill its mission now and for future generations.

Does the CIR include academic staff representation?:

Does the CIR include non-academic staff representation?:

Does the CIR include student representation?:

Members of the CIR, including affiliations and role:

Maya Ahmed ‘20, student representative Bill Anderko, Asst Dir of Facilities Management Franklyn Cantor, Special Asst to the President Allison Carpenter, staff representative Emma Castiblanco '21, student representative Owen Deitcher ‘20, CER Co-chair Claudia Kent, Asst Dir of Facilities Management Ben Laufer '23, student representative Jesse Lytle, Chief Sustainability Officer (chair) Giri Parameswaran, faculty representative Ceci Silberstein, Sustainability Fellow Joseph Stein ‘21, CER Co-chair Walter Sullivan, Director of Quaker Affairs Jon Wilson, Environmental Studies Chair

Examples of CIR actions during the previous three years:

In 2019-2020 students interested in sustainability criteria in investment policies engaged with CSSR and the Investment Staff to explore possible changes to sustainable investment criteria.

Website URL where information about the institution’s committee on investor responsibility is available:
Additional documentation to support the submission:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.