Overall Rating Reporter - expired
Overall Score
Liaison Jennifer Asman
Submission Date March 23, 2015
Executive Letter Download

STARS v2.0

Georgia State University
PA-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete Reporter Jennifer Asman
Sustainability Coordinator
Office of Sustainability
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have at least one sustainability committee, office, and/or officer that focuses on sustainability broadly and covers the entire institution?:

A brief description of the activities and substantive accomplishments of the committee(s), office(s), and/or officer(s) during the previous three years:

In October of 2013, the University Senate Sustainability Committee and Staff Council Sustainability Committee were able to justify funding for a formal Office of Sustainability at Georgia State University.

In 2013, GSU was awarded a substantial grant from the Ray C Anderson foundation to host our first faculty workshop for 40 faculty members to discuss integrating sustainability into the curriculum.

In 2014, GSU and the GA Board of Regents approved of a $3 mandatory green fee for all students, each, semester to help promote sustainability programs and initiatives. Every student and employee of the university is eligible to submit a proposal for a project that is reviewed by a committee of students, staff, and faculty.

In 2014, the Office of Sustainability was awarded a technical assistance grant by the Atlanta Regional Commission to create a campus bicycle plan and was subsequently given the annual "Blinkie" award by the Atlanta Bicycle Coalition for their work.

In 2015, GSU was awarded it's first grants to green assessment grant by the Community Foundation to asses lighting, water, and EV charging capacity in one of our largest and oldest parking decks on campus.

Does the institution have at least one sustainability committee?:

The charter or mission statement of the committee(s) or a brief description of each committee's purview and activities:

GSU has multiple 'sustainability committees'. They are listed with their respective descriptions below:

Sustainability Office: The Office of Sustainability works collaboratively with students, faculty and staff to create a culture of conservation in the classroom, throughout campus, through research and in various outreach activities for the greater Atlanta community.

Sustainability Senate Committee: The purpose of the committee shall be to advise and make recommendations to the University Senate and appropriate administrators regarding issues of sustainability policies.

Staff Sustainability Committee: The committee will work to enhance the quality of life on campus for Georgia State employees and students by focusing on the university’s impact on the local and global environment. The committee will promote sustainable business practices such as water and energy conservation, recycling, energy-efficient transportation, green building and landscape design, and related areas of university operations as appropriate. The committee will contribute to the development and maintenance of campus-wide networks of staff, faculty, and students focused on resource conservation, sustainable business practices, sustainable procurement policies, and related issues.

Sustainability Fee Committee:
Responsible for collecting and reviewing university sustainability proposals and allocating funding from the student sustainability fee.

Members of each committee, including affiliations and role (e.g. staff, student, or faculty):

Sustainability Office Members:
Patti Stilson- Part-time Interim Sustainability Director
Jennifer Asman- Sustainability Coordinator
Laurene Hamilton- Recycling Coordinator
Michael Black- Part-time Faculty Associate

Sustainability Senate Committee Members:
Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost- Risa Palm
Senior VP for Finance and Administration- Jerry Rackliffe
Arts and Sciences Faculty- Bethany Turner
Business Faculty- Debra Cannon
Education Faculty- Chara Bohan
Nursing and Health Professions- Ralph Zimmerman (non-senator)
Law Faculty- Ellen Taylor
Policy Studies Faculty- Vjollca Sadiraj
Library- LaLoria Konata
Staff Senator Kevin Chappell
Staff Senator Stephen Rosner
Associate VP for Facilities Management Services- Patti Stilson (non-voting)
Associate VP for Student Affairs- Doug Covey (non-voting)
Arts and Sciences Faculty- Dabney Dixon
Arts and Sciences- Sheri Joseph
Arts and Sciences- Zehava Eichenbaum
Arts and Sciences- Eddie Christie
School of Policy Studies- Janelle Kerlin (Bassett)
Arts and Sciences- Heidi Denzel
Arts and Sciences- Katherine Hankins
School of Public Health- Ike Okosun
School of Policy Studies Robert Moore

Staff Sustainability Committee:
Steven Whitfield- Building Services
Michael Wyatt- Student Development Specialist
Leslie Currah- Middle and Secondary Education
Colleen Blanchard- Public Health
Stephen Rosner- College of Education
Jennifer Asman -Office of Sustainability
Laurene Hamilton- Office of Sustainability

Sustainability Fee Committee Members:
Katherine Hankins- Geosciences
Jennifer Asman- Office of Sustainability
Justin Brightharp- Student Government Association
Lanier Henson- Student Government Association President

The website URL where information about the sustainability committee(s) is available:
Does the institution have at least one sustainability office that includes more than 1 full-time equivalent (FTE) employee?:

A brief description of each sustainability office:

The Office of Sustainability works collaboratively with students, faculty and staff to create a culture of conservation in the classroom, throughout campus, through research and in various outreach activities for the greater Atlanta community.

Full-time equivalent (FTE) of people employed in the sustainability office(s):

The website URL where information about the sustainability office(s) is available:
Does the institution have at least one sustainability officer?:

Name and title of each sustainability officer:
Jennifer Asman- Sustainability Coordinator; Laurene Hamilton- Recycling Coordinator

A brief description of each sustainability officer position:

Jennifer Asman:

-Gather information and highlight initiatives involving sustainability at GSU
-Initial point of contact re: sustainability programs
-Implementation of new programs
-Facilitates relationships with campus community
-Coordinates academic, research, operations, student and community sustainability activities
-Provides input to GSU sustainability vision and strategy
-Keeps abreast of issues, trends, solutions, best practices
-Grant proposal writing
-Development of all communication avenues
- Represents OOS on Staff Sustainability Committee, Sustainability Fee Committee, Environmental Programs and Advisory Committee, Parking and Transportation Committee, Wellness Champions Committee, Southeastern Sustainability Coordinators Network, and GSU Senate Sustainability Committee

Laurene Hamilton:
- Conduct campus waste audits
- Establish Recycling guidelines
- Assist in development and implementation of GSU recycling strategy
- Stay current on and establish best practices
- Meet with campus stakeholders and Recycling Foreman
- Maintain data records
- Engage students and campus on recycling
- Engage outside organizations on recycling
- Represents OOS on Staff Council Sustainability Committee and Georgia Recycling Coalition

The website URL where information about the sustainability officer(s) is available:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution and complete the Data Inquiry Form.