Overall Rating Gold - expired
Overall Score 70.12
Liaison Ciannat Howett
Submission Date July 25, 2017
Executive Letter Download

STARS v2.1

Emory University
IC-1: Institutional Boundary

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete N/A Kelly Weisinger
Office of Sustainability Initiatives
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Institution type: Associate (i.e., short-cycle), Baccalaureate, Doctoral/Research, or Master's:

Institutional control (Public, Private for-profit, or Private non-profit):
Private non-profit

A brief description of the institution’s main campus and other aspects of the institutional boundary used to complete this report:

The Druid Hills campus of Emory University and Emory Healthcare is included in the STARS scope. This includes all university buildings located on and around Clifton Road, the Briarcliff campus, the Clairmont campus, and Yerkes National Primate Research Institute. Healthcare facilities included are Emory University Hospital and its adjacent buildings, Clinics A, B, and C, the 1525 Clinic, and the Emory Rehabilitation Hospital.

Which of the following features are present on campus and which are included within the institutional boundary?:
Present? Included?
Agricultural school No No
Medical school Yes Yes
Other professional school with labs and clinics (e.g. dental, nursing, pharmacy, public health, veterinary) Yes Yes
Satellite campus Yes No
Farm larger than 5 acres or 2 hectares Yes Yes
Agricultural experiment station larger than 5 acres or 2 hectares No No
Hospital Yes Yes

The rationale for excluding any features that are present from the institutional boundary:

We have determined for the purpose of the AASHE STARS program that Emory's central contiguous campus is the institutional boundary. We have made a conscious decision to include our Healthcare facilities on Clifton Road (which consist of Emory University Hospital, Clinics A and B, Emory Rehabilitation Hospital, the 1525 Clinic, Winship Cancer Institute and the EUH Education Annex) and all research centers, including the Yerkes National Primate Research Institute. This operational boundary definition is in congruence with Emory's GHG emissions inventory.

Other Emory facilities/locations that are not directly contiguous to the main campus, with the exception of Clairmont campus and Briarcliff campus, are not considered in the calculation. These other excluded facilities include Emory University Hospital Midtown, Emory St. Joseph's Hospital, Emory Johns Creek Hospital, Grady Hospital facilities, the Emory Orthopaedics and Spine Hospital, Yerkes Field Station, Oxford College, and all other outlying Emory owned facilities. These locations are located around the state of Georgia and are not geographically attached to Emory's contiguous main campus.

Additional documentation to support the submission :

The presence of so much research and clinical healthcare space on Emory's campus makes progress on sustainability goals more challenging,but including these facilities in our sustainability goals and in our reporting boundary is the more transparent and accurate choice. Emory's STARS report reflects the resource-intensive nature of Emory's core mission and the socio-political culture of the southeast region.

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.