Overall Rating Expired
Overall Score Expired
Liaison Lynn Stoddard
Submission Date Nov. 9, 2012
Executive Letter Download

STARS v1.2

Eastern Connecticut State University
PAE-6: Diversity and Equity Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete Expired Laura Worthington
Energy Technical Specialist
Institute for Sustainable Energy
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have a diversity and equity committee?:
Yes

The charter or mission statement of the committee or a brief description of the committee's purview and activities :

The mission of the Diversity and Social Justice Council is to support and monitor the University’s evolution towards inclusive excellence through the promotion of coherence, cohesion, and collaboration of diversity initiatives and institutional structures within and across organizational systems at Eastern Connecticut State University.

Eastern Connecticut State University values the diversity of its students, faculty, and staff. Differences in race, ethnicity, national origin, class, religion, learning styles, gender, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, age, ideology, and other aspects of human variation and characterization, including but not limited to those protected by law and CSU and Eastern policies, enrich the educational experiences and social and intellectual development of students and create a rich cultural environment. Eastern is committed to ensuring that regardless of their differences, all members of the Eastern community are challenged to achieve their full potential and are supported in their pursuit of that goal.


Members of the committee, including job titles and affiliations :

Council Structure
Chair
Eunice Matthews-Armstead Sociology matthewse@easternct.edu

Members
Name Department Email
Angel Beltran Facilities beltrana@easternct.edu
Theresa Bouley Education bouleyt@easternct.edu
Carmen Cid School of Arts & Sciences cid@easternct.edu
Walter Diaz Student Affairs diazw@easternct.edu
Despina Messologitis Student messologitisd@my.easternct.edu
Suzanne Dowling Counseling dowlings@easternct.edu
Kimberly Dugan Sociology dugank@easternct.edu
Carlos Escoto Psychology escotoc@easternct.edu
Rhona Free Academic Affairs free@easternct.edu
Madeline Fugere Psychology fugerem@easternct.edu
Jeffrey Garewski Public Safety garewskij@easternct.edu
Jaime Gomez School of Edu & Prof Studies gomezj@easternct.edu
Lisa Hamilton Public Safety hamiltonl@easternct.edu
Susan Heyward Advising Center heyward@easternct.edu
James Howarth Finance and Administration howarthja@easternct.edu
Edith Mavor Registrar mavor@easternct.edu
Michael Pernal Executive VP's Office pernal@easternct.edu
LaQuana Price Admissions pricel@easternct.edu
Pamela Starr AccessAbility Services starrp@easternct.edu
Denis Ugurlu Student ugurlud@stu.easternct.edu


The website URL where information about the diversity and equity committee is available:
Does the institution have a diversity and equity office?:
Yes

A brief description of the diversity office:

Eastern has an Associate Vice President within the Office of Equity and Diversity. There is also a diversity and justice council composed of students faculty and staff. This Office advises the President and supports the University community on hiring practices and procedures, affirmative action plans, equity policies and civil rights issues. This Office is also responsible for ensuring the University's compliance with all state and federal laws pertaining to equity and diversity. The Office of Equity and Diversity continues Eastern's efforts to promote a positive campus environment through the implementation of training and related services in collaboration with other departments of the University.


The number of people employed in the diversity office:
1

The website URL where information about the diversity and equity office is available:
Does the institution have a diversity and equity coordinator?:
Yes

Diversity coordinator’s name:
Dr. Stacey Close

Diversity coordinator's position title:
Interim Associate Vice President for Equity and Diversity

A brief description of the diversity coordinator's position:

Dr. Close will administer issues related to diversity and equity, affirmative action, and non-discrimination for the University.

Dr. Close will assume his position on June 1, 2012.


The website URL where information about the diversity and equity coordinator is available:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution and complete the Data Inquiry Form.