Overall Rating Silver - expired
Overall Score 54.08
Liaison Andrew McMahan
Submission Date June 24, 2015
Executive Letter Download

STARS v2.0

Central Carolina Community College
PA-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 1.00 / 1.00 Laura Lauffer
Sustainability Coordinator
Sustainable Technologies
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have at least one sustainability committee, office, and/or officer that focuses on sustainability broadly and covers the entire institution?:

A brief description of the activities and substantive accomplishments of the committee(s), office(s), and/or officer(s) during the previous three years:

Does the institution have at least one sustainability committee?:

The charter or mission statement of the committee(s) or a brief description of each committee's purview and activities:

Monitors and makes recommendations to promote the most efficient, cost effective, and environmentally friendly methods of conserving resources including electricity consumption and the use of consumable resources like paper, toner, and other supplies,while also identifying and promoting environmentally friendly and sustainable college processes, procedures or policies. The
committee will be composed of three subcommittees, each with their own chairperson, to study and make recommendations for
every college instructional site within each of the three service area counties.

Members of each committee, including affiliations and role (e.g. staff, student, or faculty):

VP Operations, Wayne Robinson
Provost Chatham Campus, Karen Allen
Sustainability Coordinator, Laura Lauffer
Scott Byington, Chair Math and Science Department
Amy Kennedy, Instructor, Biological Sciences
Mark Hall, Lead Instructor, Honor Society Advisor, English Dept
Joy Hall, English Instructor
David Carter, English Instructor
William J. (Bill) Edwards, Basic Skills Instructor
Amanda Carter, Distance Education Specialist
Joel Oldham, Grounds Manager
Ronnie Measamer, Facilities Manager
John Delafield, Sustainable Technologies Instructor
Cindy Horrell Ramsey, Lee County Director of
Continuing Education
George Clayton, Lead Instructor, Business Technologies

The website URL where information about the sustainability committee(s) is available:

Does the institution have at least one sustainability office that includes more than 1 full-time equivalent (FTE) employee?:

A brief description of each sustainability office:

Full-time equivalent (FTE) of people employed in the sustainability office(s):

The website URL where information about the sustainability office(s) is available:

Does the institution have at least one sustainability officer?:

Name and title of each sustainability officer:
Laura Lauffer

A brief description of each sustainability officer position:

The Sustainability Coordinator manages the STARS and ACUPCC programs. The coordinator also chairs the Green Team and works with all departments on campus from professional development to facilities to assure sustainability considerations are addressed in campus efforts. The Sustainability Coordinator manages campus tours and community outreach events to expand sustainaiblity education beyond the classroom.

The website URL where information about the sustainability officer(s) is available:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.