Overall Rating Silver
Overall Score 46.77
Liaison Franklin Lebo
Submission Date May 27, 2022

STARS v2.2

Baldwin Wallace University
IN-50: Innovation D

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 0.50 / 0.50 Franklin Lebo
Assistant Professor of Sustainability
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Name or title of the innovative policy, practice, program, or outcome:
TRHT initiative from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation

A brief description of the innovative policy, practice, program, or outcome that outlines how credit criteria are met and any positive measurable outcomes associated with the innovation:

On the national level, BW was chosen by The American Association of Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) in 2022 to work with 15 other schools across the country to provide feedback and insights as they develop a Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation (TRHT)-Focused Campus Climate Assessment Toolkit.

Based on the TRHT framework, developed by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, the goal of the TRHT toolkit will be to support an "actionable assessment of institutional policies, programs and practices that perpetuate racial inequities."

"We will be contributing to an important national effort, but an equally valuable outcome of this process is the opportunity to build our own institutional capacity to fulfill our diversity and inclusion goals," said Charles (CJ) Harkness, who is transitioning this summer from chief diversity officer to director of spiritual life.

This effort is led by Dr. Timeka Rashid, who became BW's first Black vice president when she was appointed to lead the Division of Student Affairs in 2021. As Dr. Rashid indicates, "BW does not exist in a bubble. In addition to all of the positive at BW, BIPOC students, faculty and staff have also experienced discrimination, disparate success outcomes and negative experiences. We're committed to changing that."

Additional Members of BW's TRHT assessment team include Harkness; Dr. Molly Swiger, communications professor; Ericka Walker-Smith, director of inclusion programs; Dr. Susan Warner Taylor, director of institutional research; and Dr. Nicholas Mays, assistant professor of history.

A letter of affirmation from an individual with relevant expertise or a press release or publication featuring the innovation :

The website URL where information about the programs or initiatives is available:
Additional documentation to support the submission:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.