Overall Rating Gold - expired
Overall Score 69.73
Liaison Megan Litke
Submission Date Jan. 31, 2011
Executive Letter Download

STARS v1.0

American University
PAE-1: Sustainability Coordination

Status Score Responsible Party
Complete 3.00 / 3.00 Chris O'Brien
Director of Sustainability
Office of Sustainability
"---" indicates that no data was submitted for this field

Does the institution have a sustainability committee?:

The charter or mission statement of the committee or a brief description of the committee's purview and activities :

The Sustainability Project Team, comprised of AU students, faculty and staff representatives, is charged with guiding development and implementation of a Sustainability Plan, implementing the existing Climate Action Plan and Sustainability Policies, and developing future sustainability policies and programs.

In fall 2010, the Climate Action Project Team (responsible for developing a climate plan) and the Environmental Issues Project Team were combined into the Sustainability Team.

Members of the committee, including affiliations:

For the 2010-2011 academic year, the team includes:

Simon Nicholson, School of International Service
Jorge Abud, Assistant Vice President of Facilities Development and Real Estate

Additional Members:

David Hunter, Washington College of Law
Kiho Kim, Environmental Science
Dan Fiorino, School of Public Affairs
Dan Jacobs, Kogod School of Business
Rene Kauder, Kogod, Administrative Services Manager
Anna Olsson, Center for Teaching, Research and Learning

Brian Blair, Procurement and Contracts
Tiffany Sanchez, New Student Programs
Willy Suter, Facilities Management
Mark Feist, Grounds and Transportation
Michael Purcell, University Architect
Chris O’Brien, Office of Sustainability
Emily Curley, Office of Sustainability
Helen Lee, Office of Sustainability
Joshua Kaplan, Office of Sustainability, Student
Alyssa Frederick, Office of Sustainability, Student Green Eagle
Ben Wall, Office of Information Technology
Amy Farr, Human Resources, Wellness

Communications & Marketing
Jamie Hardin, Marketing Manager

Campus Life
Zachary Pogue, Campus Life
Sophia Benedicktus, Housing and Dining
Soo Kim, University Center

Stephen Bronskill, Student Government
Jennifer Jones, President, Eco-Sense
Sara Schwartz, Student Government

Development & Alumni Relations
Lee Holsopple, University-Wide Initiatives

The website URL where information about the sustainability committee is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability office?:

A brief description of the sustainability office:

The Office of Sustainability celebrates the abundance of nature by building a campus community of educated leaders who work to clean air and water, cool the atmosphere, and produce fertile land and habitat.

The number of people employed in the sustainability office:

The website URL where information about the sustainability office is available:
Does the institution have a sustainability coordinator?:

Sustainability coordinator's name:
Chris O'Brien

Sustainability coordinator's position title:
Director of Sustainability

A brief description of the sustainability coordinator’s position:

Charged with developing, implementing and tracking a sustainability plan and a climate plan.

The website URL where information about the sustainability coordinator is available:
Data source(s) and notes about the submission:

The information presented here is self-reported. While AASHE staff review portions of all STARS reports and institutions are welcome to seek additional forms of review, the data in STARS reports are not verified by AASHE. If you believe any of this information is erroneous or inconsistent with credit criteria, please review the process for inquiring about the information reported by an institution or simply email your inquiry to stars@aashe.org.